Shardiya Navratri 2019 Day 1: Maa Shailaputri & Kalash Sthapana

By: Future Point | 05-Sep-2019
Views : 2191
Shardiya Navratri 2019 Day 1: Maa Shailaputri & Kalash Sthapana

Navratri is one of the holiest and divine celebrations that take place in the Hindu tradition. This festival is held in honor of the divine feminine. The celebration takes place for continuous nine days in which Goddess Durga and her nine avatars are worshipped. As this festival begins, the whole environment gets surrounded with happiness and peace. On the 1st day of the Navratri, Goddess Maa Shilaputri Devi is worshipped.

This is a very important festival for all the followers of Ma Durga. You can also book the Nav Durga Puja for seeking the blessings of all the Swaroops of Ma Durga. Maa Shailputri who is considered as the 1st form of Ma Durga was born as the daughter of the King of Mountains. The meaning of ‘Shail’ is Mountains and ‘Putri’ is Daughter. Therefore, the 1st form of Maa Durga is known as the Shailputri which means the Daughter of the King of Mountains. She is also known as Maa Parvati (wife of Lord Shiva).

First day of Navratri 2019: 29th September 2019.

According to Panchang, the Shardiya Navratri will begin from 29th September (Sunday) and will end on 7th October (Monday).


The 'Muhurta' for Ghata Sthapana and Puja is from 06:13 AM to 07:40 AM on 29th September'19.

Duration - 01 Hour 27 Mins

However, if someone misses the above mentioned time, then the next favourable time is in the 'Abhijeet Muhurta'.

Ghatasthapana Abhijit Muhurat - 11:47 AM to 12:35 PM

Duration - 00 Hours 48 Mins

How is it celebrated:

There are many customs that are followed during the nine days of the Navratri, among them the most significant one is the fasting one. People observe fasts and eat only special Navratra food during the nine days. Some people only eat a strict vegetarian diet and they don’t even eat onion and some specific spices during Navratri. The other customs include the custom of performing Garba at the night during the 9 days. This custom has a lot of importance in Gujrat and other parts of western India. The 1st day is dedicated to Goddess Shilaputri who is considered as the Goddess of Muladhara Chakras or root Chakra. It is believed that by worshipping Goddess Shailputri one can get a life full of peace and harmony. It is also said that Ma Shailputri rules the Moon and it provides good fortune to all the devotees. People worship different Swaroops of Ma Durga during these 9 days to seek the blessings of Ma Durga.

Book Durga Saptashati Path with Samput

The story behind the 1st Day of Navratri:

Sati was the daughter of Daksha Prajapati and was married to Lord Shiva. One day, there was a ceremony organized at Daksha Prajapati’s place. At this ceremony, Sati’s father insulted Lord Shiva. Sati was not able to bear the insult that her father insulted her husband (Lord Shiva) as a result, she immolated herself in the Yogic fire. She again took a rebirth, in which she incarnated herself as the daughter of the King of Mountains, Goddess Maa Parvati. She again got married to Lord Shiva and because of this, she is considered as the 1st and the most significant among all the nine Durgas.

Significance of the 1st Day of Navratri:

The festival of Navratri is celebrated every year by the devotees of Ma Durga with the same level of zeal and enthusiasm. The festival continues for 9 days and it starts with the 1st day of Navratri in which Ma Shailaputri is worshipped. This festival is really prominent in western India where people celebrate it in their own unique way. They play Garba and worship the different forms of Ma Durga for continuous 9 days. On each day of the Navratri, the different form of Ma Durga is worshipped. Each Swaroop has its own unique legend associated with it. Ma Shaiputri was Sati in her previous birth and because of the insult that Lord Shiva faced, she immolated herself and again took birth as the daughter of the King of Mountains. She again married to Lord Shiva in her new birth. This day is celebrated in remembrance of this heart-touching legend.

How to perform Maa Shailaputri Pujan:

  • To perform the Puja, take a chowki and Place a red-colored cloth on it. Then place this chowki below the picture of Ma Shailputri. Take a little amount of Kesar and write ‘Sh’ with Kesar on it. Then place Gutika on it and offer red flowers to the Goddess and worship her to attain her blessings.
  • For worshipping, one can even chant this mantra for more benefits:
    “Om Aim Hreem Kleem Chamundaye Vichaye, Om Shailputri Dewya Namah”.
    One should chant this mantra for at least 108 times.
  • One can also make something sweet and offer as Bhog to the Goddess. After the offering, perform the aarti and attain the blessings of Ma Shailaputri. Put a flower garland around the photo of the Goddess and lighten a lamp (Akhand Dia) in front of the photo. People lighten this lamp for continuous 9 days and this is the reason, it is known as Akhand Dia.

Mantra: The following Mantra must be recited on the 1st day of the Navratri to evoke the blessings of Ma Shailaputri:

“वंदे वाद्द्रिछतलाभाय चंद्रार्धकृतशेखराम | वृषारूढां शूलधरां शैलपुत्री यशस्विनीम्‌ ||”?

“Vande Vaddrich Tatalabhaya Chandrardhakrrta Shekharama
Vriksharudham Suladharaṁ Shailaputri Yashasvinim‌”

All the nine days have their own importance in the lives of the true devotees of Ma Durga. One can Book Navratri Maha Hawan & Kanya Pujan from Future Point as it offers you the best services. This Puja bestows the devotees with the blessings of Maa Durga. One can also contact us for Special Navratri Pujas performed by our expert Brahmin Pandits under strict Vedic Rituals to be done in your name and that of your family.

नवरात्री के तीसरे दिन इस प्रकार कीजिये मां चन्द्रघण्टा की पूजा विधि एवं जानिये कथा व देवी के स्वरूप का महत्व।

नवरात्री के चौथे दिन इस प्रकार कीजिये माँ कुष्मांडा की पूजा आराधना।