Vasant or Chaitra Navratri Day 2: Please Maa Brahmacharini

By: Future Point | 04-Apr-2019
Views : 2946
Vasant or Chaitra Navratri Day 2: Please Maa Brahmacharini

The second day of Navratri is associated with worshipping Goddess Brahmacharini. During this Vasant or Chaitra Navratri, the second day will be celebrated on 26th March 2020.

Who is Maa Brahmacharini?

Maa Brahmacharini is second of the nine forms of Goddess Durga and represents the highest level of penance. Maa Brahmacharini is actually the unmarried form of Goddess Parvati who was born as the daughter of King Himalaya and Queen Maina. Upon receiving instructions from Her Guru- Sage Narada, Goddess Parvati went to perform 'Tapasya' (penance) in order to get Lord Shiva as Her husband.

During Her extremely difficult as well as long Tapasya, She ate only fruits & flowers for 1000 years. For another 100 years, She ate only leafy vegetables and for 3000 years, She only ate fallen 'Bilva' leaves. After going through such hardships, She stopped eating Bilva leaves and ultimately even gave up water.

Due to such extreme penance, the entire cosmos got disbalanced and Lord Brahma- the Creator appeared before Her and granted Her the boon of becoming the wife of Lord Shiva and asked Her to return to Her home. Later, She got married to Lord Shiva and because of Her extreme Tapasya, She is also known as Brahmacharini.

Read More: नवरात्रि का दूसरा दिवस - माँ ब्रह्मचारिणी की कथा एवं पूजा विधि ।

Depiction of Maa Brahmacharini

Maa Brahmacharini is depicted as a Devi with two hands having a Rudraksha Mala in Her right hand and a 'Kamandal' in Her left hand. She is shown wearing a white saree and walking bare feet. Maa Brahmacharini has a calm, peaceful and meditative look on Her face and is the very embodiment of Tapasya, sacrifice and highest knowledge. Her unparalleled radiance is the result of Her extreme Tapasya that She performed to get married to Lord Shiva and Her aura is infinitely brighter even that of the Sun.

Significance of Maa Brahmacharini Worship

It is said that a person who wishes for spiritual advancement, must worship Maa Brahmacharini. Maa Brahmacharini blesses Her devotees with a peaceful state of mind and bestows divine bliss on them. Her worship helps in keeping the senses in control and makes a devotee eligible for 'Moksha' or liberation from the vicious cycle of life & death.

A person who worships Maa Brahmacharini with utmost devotion gets blessed with good health and lives a happy & content life.

All fears from life are removed when one worships this incredibly benevolent form of Goddess Durga. By the grace of this form of Goddess, one gets unparalleled growth in wealth and leads a prosperous life.

How to please Maa Brahmacharini?

In order to please Maa Brahmacharini, devotees perform 9 Day Durga Saptashati Path with Hawan. Durga Saptshati is an extremely powerful set of 700 divine 'Shlokas' that invoke the presence of all nine forms of Goddess Durga (including Maa Brahmacharini) in one's life.

The 'Path' or recital of Durga Saptashati dispels all negative energies from the life of a devotee and attract the divine presence of Mother Almighty, thereby ensuring success & prosperity in life! Not only this, a Hawan (Vedic fire ritual) on the last day of Navratri completes this pious & powerful process and amplies its auspicious results manifolds. Future Point offers you the golden opportunity to book the highly auspicious 9 Day Durga Saptashati Path with Hawan and get the blessings of all nine forms of Goddess Durga.

Details of 9 Day Durga Saptashati Path with Hawan

  • 10 Path (recitals) daily of Durga Saptashati on your behalf by highly learned Brahmin Priests.
  • The Path would be performed during each day of Navratri along with a Hawan on the last day of Navratri.
  • Arrangement of watching the live telecast of the Path and Hawan from the comfort of your home via an online link.


The 9 Day Durga Saptashati Puja with Hawan is performed in strict accordance with all Vedic and Devi Puja rules & rituals.

Additionally, you can also bring the Durga Beesa Yantra to your home or office as it is a form that is brings the divine & auspicious blessings of all the nine forms of Goddess Durga (Nav Durga) in your life and dispels all negative energies and hurdles from your life.

Also, don't forget that on the eighth or ninth day (depending upon the tradition that one follows) of Navratri, one who performs Navratri Hawan with Kanya Pujan gets immense blessings from all the nine forms of Goddess Durga and makes his/her Navratri into a successful spiritual journey.

Vasant or Chaitra Navratri Day 1: Perform Ghata Sthapana and Revere Maa Shailputri

Vasant Navratri Day 3: Appease Maa Chandraghanta