Mythological forms of Devi Durga | Future Point

Mythological forms of Devi Durga

By: Future Point | 06-Oct-2018
Views : 3013
Mythological forms of Devi Durga

Goddess Durga is a very deity for Hindus. Maa Durga has nine forms and her every form is endowed with unique powers and traits. With nine forms of Maa Durga, she called Navdurga.

Navratri is celebrated to worship Maa Durga’s nine incarnations. Navratri 2018 is held in October month. Navratri 2018 date in India is 10th October. As per Hindu rituals, Navratri date and time is dependent on Hindu lunisolar calendar.

Book Your Navratri Puja Package Now: Navratri Puja in Group

Each night of Navratri Maa Durga is honored by her devotees. It is believed that if you worship her with full belief and faith then maa will bless you with her divine power and also fulfill your dreams.

So let’s read about the nine forms and their powers who worshipped in the Navratri.


Navratri begins with this day and the first day of Navratri is also called pratipada tithi. On the first day of Navratri maa, shailputri is worshipped. She is the daughter of mountains. She is also known as sati bhawani, parvati or hemavati. It is believed that she is the daughter of Himalayas king hemavana. Maa Durga’s first avatar is riding a bull and holding a trident and lotus in her hands. Trident represents the past, present and future.



The second day of Navratri is dedicated to maa Brahmacharini. She has great powers and divine grace. This form of Maa Durga holds a rosary in her right hand and a Kalash in her left hand. If you worship maa brahamacharini then you can seek the blessings of the deity in the form of happiness, peace, prosperity and grace upon all devotees. She is the way to emancipation called moksha.


Maa chandraghanta is the third form of Maa Durga and she worshipped in the third Navratri. Maa chandraghanta represents peace, tranquility and prosperity in life. Her name means the Chandra in the shape of the bell on the forehead. This third form of goddess Durga has a golden bright complexion. She is riding in a lion. Maa chandraghanta has multiple limbs and each holding a weapon.


This is the fourth form of Maa Durga which called maa kushmanda. Her name means the creator of the universe. Maa kushmanda has 10 limbs in which she holds weapons, glitter, a rosary and other holy things. She brings the sparkle into the world. Maa chandraghanta rides a lion and she symbolizes strength and courage.

Read: Navratri Colours: Look Stylish This Navratri By Wearing Something Special.


It is believed that maa skandmata is the mother of skanda or lord kartikeya. She was chosen by gods as their commander in the war against the demons. On the fifth day of navratri maa, skandmata is worshipped. This form of Maa Durga is seated on a lotus and she has four arms and three eyes. In her upper right hand, she holds Skanda and a lotus in her right hand. She grants blessings with her left arm.


On the sixth day of maa Katyayani is worshipped. Maa, Katyayani has wild hair and 18 arms in which she holds different arms. Her body’s light can destroy the darkness and evils. Maa Katyayani bliss your married life. She is known to be the fiercest form of Maa Durga.


The seventh day of Navratri is also known as Saptami. On this seventh Navratri maa kalratri is worshipped. She is also known as shubhamkari and her name means one who does well. Her complexion is very dark, disheveled hair, four arms and three eyes. She wears and flames shoot from her mouth. She holds a vajara in her left hand and a dagger and she uses both of them to fight the evil powers. By her right hand maa kalratri offered protection from all kind of darkness and problems.


On the eighth day of Navratri maa, mahagauri is worshipped. her name means extremely white and fair. As per belief, it is said that by paying homage to maa Gauri all past, present and future sins will be washed away. She always wears white clothes and rides on a bull. She has four arms and her right hand is in the pose of allaying fear and her right lower hand holds a trident.

Read: What to do and what not to do during Navratri


Last and ninth day of Navratri is also called navmi. On this day of Navratri maa, siddhidatri is worshipped and she is a ninth form of Maa Durga. Her name means giver of divine and supernatural powers. She bestows blessings upon all deities and devotees of the faith. This form of Maa Durga rides a lion.

So, in this Navratri, one should worship all the nine and different forms of Maa Durga. Maa Durga can bless you with happiness, courage and success in the life. In the period of Navratri date and time, Navratri 2018, Navratri 2018 food, Navratri 2018 date in India should be kept in mind.

Book Your Navratri Puja Package Now: Navratri Puja in Group

If you have any enquiry to be clarified, please mail us to:-

You may also call us at :-

Phone: 011-40541000/1021/1010

What is the right Way to do Shri Yantra Placement?

Weekly Horoscope 8th October to 15th October